SAEM Award Winners

SAEM presents awards in recognition of excellence in our field, for contributions improving the health of society, and for academic achievements. 

To view past award recipients, please visit the Award Archives.

John Marx Leadership Award

Jeffrey A. Kline, MD

Professor and Vice Chair of Research, Indiana University School of Medicine



Advancement of Women in Academic EM

Gail D'Onofrio, MD, MS

Chair, Dept. of EM, Yale University Medical Center
Onofrio headshot 10332741 4.29.15


Excellence in Research Award

Alan E. Jones, MD

Chair, Dept. of EM, University of Mississippi Medical Center


Hal Jayne Excellence in Education Award

Sally A. Santen, MD, PhD

Clinical Professor, Dept. of EM, University of Michigan School of Medicine



Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

Jay M. Baruch, MD

Associate Professor, Dept. of EM, Alpert Medical School, Brown University



Young Investigator Award

Marian (Emmy) Betz, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado
  Betz, Marian 01 (5x7)


Young Investigator Award

Kohei Hasegawa, MD

Assistant Professor,  Dept. of EM, Massachusetts General Hospital


Young Investigator Award

Michael Alexander Puskarich, MD

Assistant Professor, Dept. of EM, University of Mississippi Medical Center

Puskarich - 2015 Headshot


Annual Meeting Awards

The following winners were determined based on performance at the SAEM Annual Meeting.


  • Best Fellow Presentation Award - Lars W. Anderson, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Best Medical Student Presentation Award - Daniel Lensman, North Shore University Hospital/NYU School of Medicine
  • Best Young Investigator Presentation Award - Scott M. Dresden, MD, Northwestern