RAMS logo

Research Committee 

The Research Committee is responsible for identifying resources and developing educational content for residents and medical students who are interested, or may be currently involved, in emergency medicine research.  The committee also investigates the feasibility of creating research workshops for residents and medical students.


  • Resident & Student Research Curriculum: Curate existing SAEM research resources to target trainees
  • Spotlight Resident or Student Regional Abstracts in Pulse
  • SAEMF & RAMS Medical Student & Resident Research Grants
  • Annual Meeting Didactics submitted by students & residents
  • Collaboration with AAAEM/AACEM Benchmark Survey: Incorporate questions relevant to trainees
  • Emergency Medicine Interest Inventory Survey: National survey of med student and intern interests in EM

Committee Members

Katherine Hunold Buck (Chair)Ohio State University, Department of Emergency Medicine
Cosby G. ArnoldUniversity of Tennessee - Memphis
Praag AryaUniversity of Medicine and Health Sciences
Nicklaus P. AshburnWake Forest School of Medicine
Meagan A. BarryBrown University 
Christina BeckMount Sinai St Luke's-West
Cara M. BorelloEdward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Jace BradshawUniversity of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Ryan JJ BuckleyYale New Haven Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine
Jeremy A. CarterVirginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Jessica Li-yan ChowUCSF-Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency Program
David H. CisewskiMount Sinai Hospital Emergency Medicine
Joshua J. DavisPenn State Hershey Medical Center
Jared R. DiBenedettoUniversity of Buffalo SOM
Stephen C. DornerHarvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency 
Hamid Ehsan-NiaRutgers Robert Wood Johnson Department of Emergency Medicine
Christopher S. EvansVanderbilt University
Henrik GalustNortheast Ohio Medical Center
Gregory R. GaumerCleveland Clinic Akron General Medical Center
Michael GhermeziHarbor-UCLA
Tyler A. GibersonEmory University School of Medicine
Patrick J. HerlingLincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine
Alexander HuttlestonUniversity of Queensland-Ochsner Clinical School
Suzette C. IkejianiBaylor College of Medicine
Adam S. KramerBrooklyn Hospital Center
Ryan L. LatulipeNew York Presbyterian Hospital - Columbia/Cornell
Jonathan W. MeadowsMerit Health Wesley
Nehal NaikVirginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Ryan D. PappalWashington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Nicholas PettitIndiana University
Kaila A. PomeranzUniversity of Iowa
Kathryn R. RawlingsVirginia Tech Carillon Clinic
Alex C. SandersUniversity of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Andrew StarnesWake Forest
Jesus R. TorresUCSF-SFGH

Staff Liaison

Melissa McMillian