RAMS logo

Career Development and Mentorship Committee

The Mentorship and Career Development Committee is responsible for developing mentoring opportunities for residents and medical students. The committee identifies resources to assist residents in the successful completion of their residencies and provides guidance to residents and medical students who wish to pursue careers in emergency medicine academics or research.


  • SAEM Roadmaps: The Definitive Guide to Academic EM: A visual guide to different pathways in EM and how to succeed. Include examples of faculty in different tracks.
  • Who’s Who in Academic EM Series: Spotlight “big names” in EM and have them answer questions from members in a varied format (podcast, webinar, etc).
  • “Ask a Chair:” Direct advice from the chair group
  • Academic Career Guide Wiki: With expert guest authors
  • Transition Support: Help trainees navigate big transitions in med school and residency, including operationalizing how to identify and fill sub-I spots
  • Speed Mentoring 

Committee Members

Tina Mathew (Co-Chair)Mount Sinai
Arjun Prabhu (Co-Chair)Mount Sinai
Noah D. BernhardssonUniversity of Mississippi Medical Center
Charles BrownUniversity of Michigan
Cindy D. ChangLos Angeles County - Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Lucia S. DerksUniversity of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Kenneth DisbrowEmory University School of Medicine
Graham A. DixonBrody School of Medicine at East Carolina University
Kendra ElmHennepin County Medical Center
Diandra EscamilaBoston Medical Center
Nicholas FernUniversity of Maryland Medical Center
Mina K. GhobrialEmory University School of Medicine
Andrew GoldenUniversity of Cincinnati
Maurice E. HajjarThe Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Natalie HalapinLSU Health Sciences Center - New Orleans
Hayley HarveyMedStar Washington Hospital Center/Georgetown University Hospital
Victoria C. HochUniversity of Michigan
John J. HurleyBrody School of Medicine
Lindsay E. KellerUniversity of Arizona, College of Medicine - Phoenix
John D. KiersteadUniversity of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Kara L. LaBargeUMass
Anisha LashkariTouro College of Osteopathic Medicine
Moises E. LeivaUniversidad del Zulia (graduated)
Walid MalkiWright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine
Jonathan (Doug) MayeuxStanford
Meryll E. PampolinaUniversity of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Christopher G. PhillipsUniversity of Queensland - Ocshner Clinical School
Gabriel PragerMount Sinai
Emily Prince-RalbyUniversity of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Matt W. SaenzTexas Tech University Health Science Center - Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
Lana S. ShakerRutgers New Jersey Medical School
Vasisht SrinivasanUniversity of Rochester Medical Center
Wendy W. SunVirginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Agnes UsoroJohns Hopkins Emergency Medicine
Amanda VenturaUniversity of Cincinnati
Emily Wanamaker-GibbsUniversity of Rochester Medical Center
James Wong IIIEmory University

Staff Liaisons

Monica Bell
Kat Nagasawa