CDEM 2018 Awards

Congratulations to all 2018 CDEM award winners!

CD of the Year

Nathan J. Lewis, MD, VCU Health

Young Educator

Jamie M. Hess, MD, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health and Trevor R. Pour, MD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


Seth Hawkins, MD, Wake Forest School of Medicine

Distinguished Educator

Latha Ganti, MD, University of Central Florida

CDEM Resident Teacher Award

The award is given to a resident, who has demonstrated skills and interests in teaching, as defined in the criteria below. No more than one award may be given per residency program, but it need not be given each year. Faculty shall select their program's recipient. Candidates can be nominated by either Clerkship Director or Residency Program Director. 

Demonstrated interest in teaching/precepting medical students. 

Demonstrated interest and excellence in teaching physician assistants, nursing students, pharmacy students, etc. 

Participation in a patient education or residency education committee.

Peer teaching. 

Consistent quality grand rounds and/or conferences presented. 

Valued as teacher by patients and peers. 

Evidence of community teaching. 

Presentations given at regional or national Emergency Medicine meetings.

The resident selected from each residency program will receive:

Recognition in the SAEM Pulse

Certificate of Excellence as a Resident Teacher in Emergency Medicine

Recognition at the CDEM academy meeting at SAEM18

Please submit your application at least four weeks prior to the date the certificate is needed for residency graduation ceremonies. While we realize that not all residency programs provide the full range of teaching opportunities that we have enumerated, we believe the resident recipient should fulfill as many of the criteria as possible to be considered an exemplary future teacher.

Nominations should be sent to or faxed to 847-813-5450.