2017 Award Recipients

The Academy of Administrators in Academic Emergency Medicine (AAAEM) is proud to celebrate two academy members—Cathi A. Harbertson, winner of the award for Significant Contributions to AAAEM, and Linda Davis-Moon, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award. This past March, the AAAEM and the Association of Academic Charis of Emergency Medicine (AACEM) held their ninth annual joint administrators/chairs retreat in Miami, Florida. One of the highlights of the retreat is the annual awards dinner, where the academies had the opportunity to honor our two awardees. Learn more about them below!

2017 Award Winners

Cathi_Harbertson (1)


Significant Contributions to AAAEM

Cathi A. Harbertson

Cathi A. Harbertson is a business services analyst with the Johns Hopkins Department of Emergency Medicine. Ms. Harbertson began her work in the department immediately after graduating with her bachelor’s degree in 2008. She worked briefly as the assistant to the chair and quickly advanced to become a project analyst for the information systems and technology administrator. She has spent the past four years as business/data analyst and has been an integral part of developing a robust data and reporting structure for the Emergency Departments of Johns Hopkins Medicine. She is responsible for creating operational, research, regulatory, and financial reports that have been extremely useful for both administrative and clinical staff and leadership at Hopkins. Aside from the significant time devoted to the AAAEM surveys each year, her current work focuses on helping operationalize ED clinical decision-making pathways to improve a variety of challenges in the health system’s emergency departments.

Cathi received her Bachelor of Science degree from Brigham Young University. She is pursuing an MBA through the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. She has three small children ages 8, 5, and 2. When time permits, she enjoys cooking, exercising, traveling with her husband and volunteering with her church and community. She also likes to read and play piano.

Cathi, who became an official member of AAAEM in 2016, has been an integral part of the ED benchmarking and salary surveys since 2011. She, alongside the AAAEM Benchmarking Committee, creates, troubleshoots, corrects, amasses, and analyzes the results each year. She constantly strives to make the survey easier to complete, the summaries more meaningful, and looks forward to contributing to significant improvements in future years.


Lifetime Achievement Award 

Linda Davis-Moon, MSN, CRNP, APRN-BC, ALC

Linda Davis-Moon, MSN, CRNP, APRN-BC, ALC, is the executive director for strategic initiatives in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia. Linda has been a strong advocate for AAAEM, leading the way in the development of our academy; she has served in numerous roles, including president. Her leadership in organizing the Santa Fe meeting (our third retreat and the first to host significant content specific to AAAEM) was significant to the development of the retreat as a “real” meeting.

Linda has, for many years, led the way in managing the Department of Emergency Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University. Her role balanced department management with the practice of medicine as an active NP who continued to see patients. This experience gave her a unique perspective as administrator and clinician. Linda is driven to excellence and leads the way with her development of Authentic Leadership and Strategic vision. Linda exhibits the professionalism and inclusiveness of a mature leader who thinks carefully before speaking, weighs all perspectives that are brought to the table, and makes sure to listen and understand all viewpoints as she weighs her decisions.

Linda received a Master of Science in Nursing and Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Thomas Jefferson University School of Nursing. Her interests include: authentic leadership, injury prevention, innovation, and design in health care. Linda is the chair of the AAAEM Strategic Planning Committee; she served as president of AAAEM in 2014-15. Her passions are music, reading, and travel, having visited over 24 countries to date!